Feast on the Word

1137937_75925793

Okay, language commence!

I know I need to write this post as a story because I’ve got writers’ group tomorrow night and I don’t know what the hell I will do if I can’t write it now.  I mean, I could try to write at work in an email, I will have to put in something (there’s no easy way to account for this, I’ve quite thoroughly discovered) so I can print it off and read it.  It’s just both problematic and weird where I’m in such a crash accounting course situation to break away and try and turn on this other side of my brain and get cracking because in most ways, there is a little extra time to think if I elect to use that time for writing.  I want to.  I could do so much with that extra morning time. I’ve been reading, which comes as a shock to everyone, I know, if only a travel book about Florence that I picked up.  It’s written in a bit of a tedious style, but it’s crammed with historical information and it’s held my focus which is more than I can say for most everything else lately.   I have been working on what is shaping up to be something of a workable outline for my novel, or at least the most workable one I’ve come up with so far on the basis of the feedback I got at our last meeting.  But that’s not done and it’s not, currently, inspiring me to write anything specific, fiction-wise, here.  Damnit.  Definitely not doing NaNoWriMo.  Just trying to do…something.

I also know that there’s still no Italy posts so it quite seems as though I didn’t go anywhere at all and I did, I did.

…..

Okay, let’s look forward to more pressure in the morning because I can’t think of a damn thing about the story that I want to write.  I’m not really interested in talking about depreciation and journal entries and audit prep, either.  Again.

I’m still focused on the larger idea, I guess, of just getting to a place where I feel organized and good and ready to, y’know, progress?  Where I am able to say, okay, let’s get this place clean instead of feeling so taken over by it.  That everything has to be pushed off just so that I don’t feel like numbness is the best way to traverse the distance between here and there, now and then.  That I can just handle things as they come up.  I’m getting better.  Just not far enough fast enough for my own comfort right now.

But I did, somehow, this awkward, anxious girl that I am, get myself flown thousands of miles over a whole Atlantic Ocean where nobody gave a shit about any of that.  My money spent and when you just felt like you were hanging out with a friend, albeit one who knows about the significance of the direction of the blade of the angel atop Castel Sant’angelo.  You could be scared, but what was the point of that?

Leave a Reply

