The Succotash Was Insufferable: Day Two Hundred Sixty

1024825_78926166

 

I feel best, or if not best, better than the usual sub-par when I watch a Ken Burns documentary.  Luckily, I’ve happened upon a bit of this Roosevelt one which is such a better option than going back to watch some Masterchef I missed.  If you followed Twitter last night in regards to the ending – and I know at least one of you watched it – there were some really terrible things being said about the winner, and I do sort of want to clarify that those aren’t my reasons for being a bit despairing as to what the result was.  I just think her personality is cloying, her food soulless, and the editing done in her favor.  What life choices she’s made before and after the competition make no nevermind to me.

And half the reason I watch the show (because let’s face it, there’s no way in hell I’d ever find myself cooking either an octopus or a pig’s ear for anyone under any circumstance) is because of the hilariously intense Joe – that icy stare really does fit amazingly well a character of mine and it’s fun to sort of get to imagine him as being alive, trotting about this world in red shoes (my character would NEVER, would never ever never) and for some reason, being psychologically scarred by what home cooks do to a plate of spaghetti and meatballs.  The character is not much of an eater, but he does like to watch people eat (wait.  well.  this is true of him.  I’m sure he has his reasons.)

To sort of cleanse the palate, I ended up catching a lot of the Ken Burns documentary on the Roosevelts, or at least a lot of what aired tonight. Of course, it’s more complicated than it plays on its face, but I really feel that Eleanor Roosevelt is such an inspiration.  I think people say that about her often after reading a quote, our generation detached by a century from challenges and sorrows, but to learn about her life and what she was willing to experience and go through for the betterment of others is still profoundly moving.  “You must do what you think you cannot do.”  Trying to take that with me.

…There was really nothing to update workwise.  Old Boss’ wife is recuperating after what was an unplanned surgery on her heart which he seemed to think did what it was supposed to.  I moved slowly and shut my door and got a few things done for work….but if I’m working on Saturday, too, and I was in at 7:30a.m. for the last iteration of a particular morning meeting full of both great people and some less great ones I will ever experience, I’m allowing myself a little bit of breathing room before the hell is broke loose and everyone’s minds get blown in big, gory chunks all over my face.

I ate candy, but minimized the liquid caffeine.  I can see how if I actually didn’t eat the caffeine in other forms, that would be a good thing for me.

Leave a Reply

